South Carolina Collision Report
Find Your Collision Report Online
A South Carolina crash or collision report is officially titled “South Carolina Traffic Collision Report Form TR-310”. The traffic accident report form used by the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles describes persons, vehicles and circumstances involved, and includes a crash diagram and contributing factors. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. If a police officer did not attend your event, you may have to file a form FR-309.
The "South Carolina Traffic Collision Report Form TR-310"
A South Carolina crash or collision report is officially titled as ‘South Carolina Traffic Collision Report Form TR-310’. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. If a police officer did attend your accident, you may need to file a ‘FR-309’ within 15 days after the crash if there was property damage of more than $1,000.00 to any one vehicle or property. If anyone was injured or anyone was killed, you are required to immediately notify the police. The following documents and websites provide more information and detail on South Carolina Collision Reports:
|South Carolina Traffic Collision Report Form TR-310|
|South Carolina Traffic Collision Not Investigated by Law Enforcement FR-309|
|South Carolina Collision Report Form Instruction Manual|
3 Ways to Get A Copy Of Your Report On-Line In South Carolina
1. Use MyAccident.org
Chat with a trained MyAccident.org representative for assistance in finding your crash report, help in navigating South Carolina's online portal, or simply understanding reports. MyAccident.org provides free 24/7 customer service chat. We’re dedicated to helping those in need.
2. Order Online Through SCDMV
To request your crash report online from the SCDMV online portal, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. To buy a collision report online, you must enter your personal information authenticating who is requesting a copy of the collision report and enter additional information that identifies the collision. You will also need to provide payment for the applicable fee of $6 per report.
Other Data Sites like LexisNexis or CrashDocs
These can be a good reliable source of data. However the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in South Carolina. (sometimes less than 50%)
South Carolina Accident Reports - FAQ
When Should You File a Report?
You should file a report if you’re the operator of a vehicle involved in a crash where the damage to any one vehicle or property is over $1000, or if there is an injury to any person.
How Long Do I Have to File My Report?
You must file the report within 15 days of the date of the crash.
When Should You Notify the Police?
You are required to immediately notify police after a vehicle accident resulting in injury or death.
Why this Report is Important
Data from this report is used for many purposes including:
What is a traffic collision?
A traffic collision occurs when a vehicle collides with another vehicle, pedestrian, animal, road debris, or other stationary obstruction, such as a tree, pole or building. Traffic collisions often result in injury, death, and property damage.
How many people get hurt in traffic collisions?
In the United States, 5 people are injured in a traffic collision every minute and somebody dies every 14 minutes!