Pennsylvania Crash Report
Find Your Crash Report Online
A Pennsylvania accident or crash report is officially titled “AA-500, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Police Crash Report Form”. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. If a police officer did not attend your accident, Motorists in Pennsylvania are required to file a report within 5 days of the crash.
The “AA-500 Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Police Crash Report Form”
A Pennsylvania accident or crash report is officially titled as ‘AA-500 Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Police Crash Report Form’. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. If a police officer did not attend your accident, you must file a report within 5 days after the crash if (1) there was property damage to any one vehicle (to the extent the vehicle can not be driven) or property (2) anyone was injured (no matter how minor), or (3) anyone was killed. The following documents and websites provide more information and detail on crash report forms:
|Commonwealth Of Pennsylvania Driver’s Accident Report|
|Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Crash Reporting System Website User’s Manual|
3 Ways to Get A Copy Of Your Report On-Line In Pennsylvania
1. Use MyAccident.org
Chat with a trained MyAccident.org representative for assistance in finding your crash report, help in navigating Pennsylvania’s online portal, or simply understanding reports. MyAccident.org provides free 24/7 customer service chat. We're dedicated to helping those in need.
2. Order Online Through Pennsylvania Online Crash Report Requests System
To request your crash report online from Pennsylvania Online Crash Report Requests, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. You may also need to provide your name, mailing address, email address, as well as the applicable fee of $22 per report. It is important to note that requests should allow a minimum of 15 days from the date of the incident before searching for a record.
Other Data Sites like LexisNexis or CrashDocs
These can be a good reliable source of data. However the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in Pennsylvania. (sometimes less than 50%)
Pennsylvania Accident Reports - FAQ
When Should You File a Report?
You should file a report if you’re the operator of a vehicle involved in a crash where there were any injuries (even if not life-threatening), death to any party involved in the accident, or vehicle damage that prevents an involved party from driving away from the scene. You must file the report within 5 days of the date of the crash.
Who Can Obtain a Copy of a Report in Pennsylvania?
Persons authorized by Section 3751(b) of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code include any person involved in the crash, their attorney, insurer, the Federal Government, Branches of the Military Service, Commonwealth Agencies, Officials of Political Subdivisions, or Agencies or other States and Nations and their political subdivisions.
Why this Report is Important
Data from this report is used for many purposes including:
What is a traffic collision?
A traffic collision occurs when a vehicle collides with another vehicle, pedestrian, animal, road debris, or other stationary obstruction, such as a tree, pole or building. Traffic collisions often result in injury, death, and property damage.
How many people get hurt in traffic collisions?
In the United States, 5 people are injured in a traffic collision every minute and somebody dies every 14 minutes!