Oregon Accident Reports Online
Search for Your Oregon Crash Report
When you’re part of a traffic accident in Oregon, you’re required to file an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report within 72 hours of the accident as long as it meets specific criteria set by the state. However, if you were part of an accident and are looking for a copy of your accident report in Oregon, you might be surprised to find that Oregon DMV won’t give you a copy of your accident report, so it’s best to keep a copy when you file yours. There are other reports that you can get by contacting the local police department where the accident occurred, if needed.
The "Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report (735-32)"
An Oregon accident or crash report is officially titled as "Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report (735-32)". It is used by law enforcement officers in Oregon to report traffic crashes to the Department of Public Safety. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident.
How do I find my accident report in Oregon?
AIn the state of Oregon, state law (ORS 802.220(5)) states that DMV cannot give you a copy of an accident report that was submitted to DMV. However, this report is intended to be submitted by the driver so when you fill out your accident report, make sure you keep a copy for yourself.
Although you can’t get a copy of the accident report from the DMV, you should be able to obtain the police report from the local police department where the accident occurred if one was filed. Alternatively, if you need contact information for parties involved in the accident from the DMV, you can call the Oregon DMV Accident Unit at (503) 945-5098 to get their information.
Portland Police Reports
Even though you can’t obtain a copy of the accident report with DMV, if your accident occurred within the Portland Police’s territory and is within the criteria to be investigated by the Portland Police Bureau, you can obtain a copy of the officer filed police report by contacting The Portland Police Records Division. This report is an official document put together by a law enforcement officer who was on the scene and should still contain plenty of information about the accident.
How do you know if there is a police report that you can request? One or more of the following criteria must be met for the Portland Police Bureau to investigate a traffic collision, so if one of these is true for your accident, there’s a high chance that there is a police report that you can request a copy of:
- all fatal or potential fatal collisions
- serious physical injury collisions
- collisions involving operators who are under the influence of intoxicants
- collisions involving drivers who fail to perform the duties required of them at traffic collision scenes (Hit and Run)
- collisions involving hazardous material spills
If your accident met one of these conditions, you may contact Portland Police to obtain a copy of your officer filed police report:
- 1111 SW 2nd Ave (Justice Center) Portland, OR
Alternatively, if you received a Traffic Crash Exchange Report, this is likely the only report written about the incident or accident so you should keep this for your records. If you want to obtain the case number assigned to this report, contact the Records Division office at 503-823-0043. The case number should be available 72 hours after the accident.
Looking for a specific Oregon county or city?
Basic facts about motor vehicle accidents in Oregon
In 2018, there were a total of 50,099 motor vehicle traffic crashes in Oregon. Of these 21,936 were property damage only crashes, 27,717 were non-fatal injury crashes, and 446 were fatal crashes. In a report put out by the Oregon Department of Transportation, it was stated that while the number of total crashes was down over 13% from the prior year, the number of fatal crashes was up over 10%. Interestingly, 33% of fatal crashes were with a fixed object while 34% of all other types of crashes were rear-end type crashes.
Oregon Accident Reports - FAQ
When do I file my own accident report?
In Oregon, you’re required to file an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report with the DMV within 72 hours of an accident if one of the following applies:
Keep in mind that a police report does not count as filing an accident report with the DMV. Filing an accident report with DMV must be done in addition, even if a police report was filed for the accident you were involved in.
Once you have filled out the form keep a copy for yourself for your records in case you ever need it because Oregon law (ORS 802.220(5)) states that DMV cannot give you a copy. You may submit your report one of two ways (pick only one, don’t do both as it may slow down processing time):
Oregon law states that failure to file a report when required requires the DMV to issue a suspension note.
If the accident resulted in less than $2,500 in damages and the other party doesn’t have insurance, you can still report it to the DMV. When you do this make sure to note on the accident report that it doesn’t meet mandatory reporting criteria.
What happens if I didn’t have insurance at the time of the accident?
If you get into an accident in Oregon and don’t have liability insurance at the time of the accident, your license will be suspended for one year. After one year, you need to file an SR-22 before your license will be reinstated and you will need to file one for the next 3 years after the suspension date (even if the accident wasn’t your fault).