Request New Hampshire Accident Reports
Find your New Hampshire Crash Report Online
If you were involved in a car accident in New Hampshire, it’s always a good idea to get a copy of the accident report for your records. Accident reports are what law enforcement officers in New Hampshire use to document important details about a collision. Accident reports are essential when it comes to court cases or insurance claims because they provide important information about the accident and who was involved. Keep reading to find out how to get a copy of your accident report in New Hampshire.
How do I find my accident report in New Hampshire?
Although online methods for requesting crash reports are popular in many states and seem to be becoming the norm, New Hampshire still does not offer this service. According to the New Hampshire Department of Safety website, the only way to obtain a copy of a crash report is by mail. Though this may take a bit longer than other methods, the actual process is relatively simple.
Request a New Hampshire Collision Report Through Mail
To mail in a request for your accident report in New Hampshire, send your filled-in request form to:
NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR / Accidents
23 Hazen Drive
Concord NH 03305
When sending your request form by mail, note that there is a $1 per page fee with a $5 minimum. You may include a $5 check and you will be contacted via telephone or email if there is an additional cost.
Alternatively, you can email [email protected] or call (603) 227-4010 to predetermine the cost before mailing your request and payment to avoid any delays.
FAQS about accident reports in New Hampshire
What information do you need to find your accident report in New Hampshire?
To find your accident report in New Hampshire, you will need to complete a request which requires you to provide the following information:
For more information and to get a better idea of what you'll need to complete your report, look over the New Hampshire form for requesting motor vehicle records here.
Who is qualified to request an accident report in New Hampshire?
The following individuals are allowed to request an accident report in New Hampshire:
If not the record holder or vehicle owner, you will need to disclose your intent for the information obtained via the accident report and submit a certificate of authenticity.
Crash statistics for New Hampshire
According to recent reports, New Hampshire is, fortunately, one of the safest places to drive. In 2017, New Hampshire ranked as the 6th safest state in the country when measuring road fatalities per person in the state and third-safest when measuring road fatalities per mile driven.
In 2019, there were a total of 90 fatal accidents from a total of 101 fatal crashes. With a death rate of 7.4 per 100,000 people and .73 deaths per 100 million vehicle miles traveled, New Hampshire continues to be one of the safest places to drive.
Do I need to file an accident report in New Hampshire?
If a police officer responds to the scene of an accident, they will submit a written report to the NH DMV and you will not have to submit a report on your own. The form they will fill out is form DSMV 159, State of New Hampshire Uniform Police Traffic Accident Report.
This report may take several weeks for a law enforcement agency to submit to the NH DMV. So if you need assistance with an insurance claim, you should submit a report yourself as outlined below.
What if a Police Officer doesn’t respond to the scene of the incident?
If the police aren’t called to the scene of a crash, the individual operators involved in the crash are responsible for filing a report. Any kind of car accident has to be reported according to the state of New Hampshire within 15 days if the accident meets the following criteria:
If your car accident fits any of these criteria, you will need to submit an Operator’s Report (DSMV 400) in writing to the NH DMV.
Once completed, mail this report to:
NH Dept. of Safety