|The cost of an accident report from Franklin Police Department is $5. You will likely need to provide information such as the report number, your name, drivers license number, vehicle plate number, the date/time of accident, location of accident, who was involved in the accident, your mailing address, phone number, and email.|
|Franklin Police Department offer's 4 ways to get a copy of your accident report:|
|In Person: Franklin Police Department, 911 Panther Way Franklin, MA 02038 United States|
|By Email: [email protected]|
|Online: For more information, you can visit https://www.franklinma.gov/police-department|
Accident reports are generally considered public records in Massachusetts, unless they contain information that is exempt from disclosure under the Public Records Law. Some examples of exempt information are:
- Records between law enforcement officers and victims of abuse or rape, which are kept confidential to protect the privacy of the victims.
- Records that would compromise the safety or security of law enforcement personnel, witnesses, informants, or the public.
- Records that would interfere with an ongoing investigation or prosecution, or reveal investigative techniques or confidential sources.
- Records that contain personal data, such as medical records, social security numbers, or financial information, of individuals other than the requester.
If you need the official police report for a vehicle crash in Massachusetts, you can request a copy from the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). You will need to pay a fee of $20 for each crash report you request. You can request a crash report online or by mail. Please wait at least 4 weeks after the crash before requesting a report. If a report is not found, the RMV will continue to search for 90 days from the date of the crash.
If you are looking for a crash report from the Franklin Police Department, you can also contact them directly at (508) 528-1212 or visit their office at 911 Panther Way, Franklin, MA 02038. They may have additional information or records that are not available from the RMV.
If you are involved in a car accident in Massachusetts, you should take the following steps:
- Check yourself and others for injuries and call 911 if anyone needs medical attention.
- Move your vehicle to a safe location if possible and turn on your hazard lights.
- Exchange information with the other driver(s), such as name, address, phone number, license plate number, driver’s license number, and insurance information.
- Get the names and contact information of any witnesses and take pictures of the scene and the damage to the vehicles.
- Report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible.
- If the accident caused injury, death, or more than $1,000 worth of damage, you must file a Motor - - -- Vehicle Crash Operator Report with the RMV within 5 days of the accident. You must also send a copy of the report to the police department where the crash occurred. You can download the report form online or get one from any police station or RMV branch.
- If you were injured in the accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages. You should consult with an experienced car accident lawyer in Massachusetts to protect your rights and interests.
A Massachusetts crash report is an important document that records the details of a vehicle accident involving any type of vehicle. The crash report is used by law enforcement agencies to investigate the cause and circumstances of the accident. It is also used by insurance companies to determine liability and coverage for the damages and injuries resulting from the accident. Additionally, it is used by lawyers and courts to establish evidence and facts in case of a legal dispute or claim arising from the accident.
Need to search a different area? Visit our Massachusetts Accident Reports page.