Massachusetts Crash Reports
Find Your Crash Report Online
A Massachusetts accident or crash report is officially titled “CRA-65 Commonwealth of Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Crash Police Report” It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. Even if a police officer attended your accident, you should file your own report with the state provided form titled "CRA-23 Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report".
The ‘CRA-65 Commonwealth of Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Crash Police Report’
A Massachusetts accident or crash report is officially titled as ‘CRA - 65 Commonwealth of Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Crash Police Report’. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. Even if a police officer did attend your accident, you must file a ‘Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report’ within 5 days after the crash (unless the person is physically incapable of doing so due to incapacity) if (1) there was property damage of more than $1,000.00 to any one vehicle or property (2) anyone was injured (no matter how minor), or (3) anyone was killed. The following documents and websites provide more information and detail on Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Reports:
|Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report|
|Massachusetts Law Enforcement Crash Report Data Dictionary|
3 Ways to Get A Copy Of Your Report On-Line In Massachusetts
1. Use MyAccident.org
Chat with a trained MyAccident.org representative for assistance in finding your crash report, help in navigating Massachusetts online portal, or simply understanding reports. MyAccident.org provides free 24/7 customer service chat. We’re dedicated to helping those in need.
2. Order Online Through myRMV
To request your crash report online from myRMV, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. You will also need to provide your name, mailing address, email address, and the applicable fee of $20 per report. Only crash reports filed by state or local Massachusetts police agencies are available to request. It is important to note it can take up to 4 weeks for the RMV to process your request. If your report is not found, the RMV will continue to search for 90 days from the date of the crash.
Other Data Sites like LexisNexis or CrashDocs
These can be a good reliable source of data. However the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in Massachusetts. (sometimes less than 50%)
Massachusetts Accident Reports - FAQ
When Should You File a Report
You should file a report if you’re the operator of a vehicle involved in a crash where the damage to any one vehicle or property is over $1000, or if there is an injury to any person, even if a police officer was on the scene. You must file the report within 5 days of the date of the crash.
When Should You NOT File a Report
You should not file a report if the crash occurred on a private road, driveway, private parking lot or other private way.
Why this Report is Important?
Data from this report is used for many purposes including:
Who is the report sent to?
What is a traffic collision?
A traffic collision occurs when a vehicle collides with another vehicle, pedestrian, animal, road debris, or other stationary obstruction, such as a tree, pole or building. Traffic collisions often result in injury, death, and property damage.
How many people get hurt in traffic collisions?
In the United States, 5 people are injured in a traffic collision every minute and somebody dies every 14 minutes!
How to file a report for a hit and run or in the event of a person unlawfully leaving the scene of the crash?
A police department is required to accept a report filed by an owner or operator whose vehicle has been damaged in a crash in which another person unlawfully left the scene even if damage to the vehicle does not exceed $1,000.