Georgia Crash Report
Find Your Crash Report Online
A Georgia accident or crash report is officially titled “Georgia Uniform Motor Vehicle Accident Report DMVS-523”. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. If an officer did not attend the scene of your accident, you should file a Personal Report of Accident form DDS-190.
The “Georgia Uniform Motor Vehicle Accident Report DMVS-523”
A Georgia accident or crash report is officially titled as ‘Georgia Uniform Motor Vehicle Accident Report DMVS-523’. It is used by law enforcement to record the details relating to an accident involving any type of vehicle. The details in the report are recorded by the officer who attended the scene of the accident. A report must be filed if (1) there was property damage of more than $500.00 to any one vehicle or property (2) anyone was injured (no matter how minor), or (3) anyone was killed. If an officer did not attend the scene of your accident, you should file a Personal Report of Accident form DDS-190. The following documents and websites provide more information and detail on accident reports:
|Individual Request for Crash Report Form|
|Georgia Uniform Motor Vehicle Accident Report Training Manual|
|Georgia Uniform Motor Vehicle Accident Report DMVS-523|
3 Ways to Get A Copy Of Your Report On-Line In Georgia
1. Use MyAccident.org
Chat with a trained MyAccident.org representative for assistance in finding your crash report, help in navigating Georgia's online portal, or simply understanding reports. MyAccident.org provides free 24/7 customer service chat. We’re dedicated to helping those in need.
2. Order Online Through Georgia Department of Transportation
To request your crash report online from GDOT, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. You may need to provide information such as your name, mailing address, email address, as well as the applicable fee of $5 per report. You can also mail in the form “Individual Request for Crash Report” with an attached cashiers check or money order for $5 per report requested.
Other Data Sites like LexisNexis or CrashDocs
These can be a good reliable source of data. However the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in Georgia. (sometimes less than 50%)
Georgia Accident Reports - FAQ
What defines an accident report in Georgia?
Georgia defines a crash or accident as the collision of any motor vehicle with another vehicle or object, or the involvement of a motor vehicle in any manner where a person is killed or injured, or where a person suffers more than $500 in property damage.
When Should You File a Report
You should file a report if you’re the operator of a vehicle involved in a crash where the damage to any one vehicle or property is over $500, if there is an injury to any person, or if any person was killed. You should file your report with local law enforcement as soon as possible. Georgia law encourages all drivers to call 911 immediately after a crash occurs.
Why this Report is Important
Data from this report is used for many purposes including:
What is a traffic collision?
A traffic collision occurs when a vehicle collides with another vehicle, pedestrian, animal, road debris, or other stationary obstruction, such as a tree, pole or building. Traffic collisions often result in injury, death, and property damage.
How many people get hurt in traffic collisions?
In the United States, 5 people are injured in a traffic collision every minute and somebody dies every 14 minutes!