MyAccident.org Logo

Delaware Crash Reports

Find Your Crash Report Online

If you were involved in an auto accident in the state of Delaware, it would be wise to get your hands on a copy of the crash report for the incident. Crash reports are incident reports filed by law enforcement that document the details about a specific auto accident and it’s generally a good idea to have a copy of yours if you have ever been in a car accident. Crash reports contain information like the damage caused, the speed of the drivers, etc. This article will list all the ways that you can get yourself a copy of your crash report in the state of Delaware.

How do I find my accident report in Delaware?

In Delaware, there are two ways to request a crash report, which are by mail or in person. The Delaware State Police don’t allow walk-ins at this time. In addition to this, there are varying prices and requirements for requesting a crash report from different police departments. You’ll find listed below guides on how to request your crash report from the following police departments:

  • Wilmington Police Department
  • Dover Police Department
  • Newark Police Department
  • Middletown Police Department
  • Delaware State Police

To request your crash report in Delaware, you will also need to have a copy of your accident report number, which can be found in the “Information Exchange Form”. Your information exchange form will be provided to you by the police officer that responded to your auto accident.

Find My Report For Me

How to request a crash report from the Wilmington Police Department

To request a crash report from the Wilmington Police Department, or for accidents that occurred in Wilmington, your request must include:

  • The accident report number for the incident you’re requesting a report on
  • The names of all parties involved in the accident
  • The date of the accident
  • The location of the accident
  • Any other important information regarding the incident
  • $18.50 payment

Remember to include a copy of your information exchange form in the request to ensure that all necessary information is provided. After providing all of the necessary documents, information, and payment, address your request to:

Wilmington Police Department
300 North Walnut Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

The Wilmington Police Department allows walk-in requests for crash reports. If you want to request your crash report in person, bring all of the information and documentation that you would use for a mail request, as well as the required $18.50 payment.

The Wilmington Police Department is usually able to provide a crash report around 7-10 days after the accident occurred. The phone number for the department is (302) 576-3600 if you have any questions.

How to request a crash report from the Dover Police Department

To request a crash report from the Dover Police Department, or for accidents that occurred in Dover, your request must include:

  • The accident report number for the incident you’re requesting a report on
  • The names of all parties involved in the accident
  • The date of the accident
  • The location of the accident
  • Any other important information regarding the incident
  • $25 payment

It’s advisable to include a copy of your information exchange form in the request to ensure that all necessary information is provided. After providing all of the necessary documents, information, and payment, address your request to:

Dover Police Department
400 S. Queen Street
Dover, DE 19904

The Dover Police Department allows walk-in requests for crash reports. If you want to request your crash report in person, bring all of the information and documentation that you would use for a mail request, as well as the required $25 payment. If you have any questions, you can find more information on the Dover Police Department’s website, or by contacting the records unit at (302) 736-7109.

How to request a crash report from the Newark Police Department

To request a crash report from the Newark Police Department, or for accidents that occurred in Newark, fill out the Newark Police Department request form. Your request must include:

  • The accident report number for the incident you’re requesting a report on
  • The names of all parties involved in the accident
  • The date of the accident
  • The location of the accident
  • Any other important information regarding the incident
  • $20 payment for a standard report, $60 payment for a fatal accident report

It’s advisable to include a copy of your information exchange form in the request to ensure that all necessary information is provided. After providing all of the necessary documents, information, payment, and the accurately filled-in request form, address your request to:

Newark Police Department
220 South Main Street
Newark, DE 19711

The Newark Police Department allows walk-in requests for crash reports. If you want to request your crash report in person, bring all of the information and documentation that you would use for a mail request, the required $20 (or $60) payment, and a filled in request form.

If you have any questions, you can find more information by contacting the department at (302) 366-7100.

How to request a crash report from the Middletown Police Department

To request a crash report from the Middletown Police Department, or for accidents that occurred in Middletown, your request must include:

  • The accident report number for the incident you’re requesting a report on
  • The names of all parties involved in the accident
  • The date of the accident
  • Case Number
  • The location of the accident
  • Photo ID
  • Any other important information regarding the incident
  • $25 payment for a standard report, $75 payment for a fatal accident report

It’s advisable to include a copy of your information exchange form in the request to ensure that all necessary information is provided. After providing all of the necessary documents, information, and appropriate payment, address your request to:

Middletown Police Department
130 Hampden Road Middletown,
DE 19709

The Middletown Police Department allows walk-in requests for crash reports. If you want to request your crash report in person, bring all of the information and documentation that you would use for a mail request, the required $25 (or $75) payment, a case number, and Photo ID. If you have any questions, you can find more information by contacting the department at (302) 376-9950.

How to request a crash report from the Delaware State Police

To request a crash report from the Delaware State Police, include in your request:

  • The accident report number for the incident you’re requesting a report on
  • The names of all parties involved in the accident
  • The date of the accident
  • The location of the accident
  • Any other important information regarding the incident
  • $25 payment for a standard report, $60 payment for a fatal accident report

It’s advisable to include a copy of your information exchange form in the request to ensure that all necessary information is provided. After providing all of the necessary documents, information, and appropriate payment, address your request to:

Delaware State Police
P.O. Box 430
Dover, DE 19903

The Delaware State Police does not allow walk-in requests for crash reports. Reports are usually available within two weeks of the incident. For questions, you can learn more information by contacting Delaware State Police’s records department at (302) 739-5931.