|The cost of an accident report from Miami-dade Police Department is $15. You will likely need to provide information such as the report number, your name, drivers license number, vehicle plate number, the date/time of accident, location of accident, who was involved in the accident, your mailing address, phone number, and email.
|Miami-dade Police Department offer's 4 ways to get a copy of your accident report:
|In Person: Miami-dade Police Department, 9105 NW 25th St. Doral, FL 33172
|By Email: [email protected]
|Online: For more information, you can visit https://www.miamidade.gov/global/service.page?Mduid_service=ser1470774597039291
To request your Florida crash report online from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) Crash Portal, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. You will need to provide your driver's license number and may be asked for other identifying information, such as your report number, VIN number, or last name. In order to obtain a crash report, you must pay the statutorily required fee of $10.00 per report, plus an additional $2.00 convenience fee for each payment transaction. Customers are limited to a maximum of 10 reports per transaction. Please note that law enforcement agencies have 10 days to submit crash reports in Florida.
If requesting your crash report by mail or in person, you must complete a signed,
Sworn Statement for Crash Report form,
along with a $10 payment made out to “FLHSMV” for the report.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
These can be a good reliable source of data. However, the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in Florida. (sometimes less than 50%)
Can I report a hit-and-run?
Under Florida law, drivers involved in an accident must report a wreck. Notifying law enforcement immediately increases the chances of an accurate investigation, pinpointing eyewitnesses, and requisitioning surveillance footage. Your Miami-Dade accident report is the cornerstone of any auto insurance claim.
Hit-and-run incidents are taken extremely seriously in the Sunshine State, with financial penalties and jail time commonly levied against offenders.
What if the person who hits your car denies having done so?
If a driver denies hitting your car, this can stall the insurance claims process. It makes a comprehensive Miami-Dade traffic accident report even more essential. A major red flag is that the other driver suggests avoiding getting the police involved.
Obtaining Miami-Dade County accident reports begins by calling the police. The $500 property damage mandatory reporting limit set by law means almost all accidents require making a report to fulfill your legal obligations.
The investigating officer will inspect the scene and fill out a car accident police report. You can also support the investigation by taking photographs of the scene, if you are able, and self-reporting any medical injuries. This information can also support the investigating officer in filling out their report.
If the driver and their insurance company continue to deny liability, your insurer and attorney will handle the legwork of pursuing your claim, which could necessitate the case going to trial.
Are car accident reports available to the general public in Florida?
During the first 60 days after an auto accident, only certain parties may perform a successful Miami-Dade accident report search. These parties include:
Florida’s rules on who can access a Miami-Dade accident report allow victims to seek medical treatment and legal advice. These rules are designed to protect victims from being harassed by those seeking to take advantage of them.
How long does it take to receive a car accident report in Miami-Dade County?
To get a copy of a police report, you may need to wait up to ten business days for that report to become available. However, once requested via the Florida Crash Portal, you can receive your report within hours.
If you are having difficulty finding a Miami accident report for crashes that took place more than ten days ago, you are advised to contact the investigating agency directly. How soon official reports on Miami-Dade traffic accidents become available depends on officer availability.
What if the report contains incorrect information?
Officers are human, and occasionally you may notice that your Miami police report online contains missing or incorrect information. The correct approach to dealing with errors depends on the type of error.
Factual errors are the easiest to correct. For example, if the attending officer wrote down the wrong car model or driver’s date of birth, you can bring relevant documentation to your nearest police department or highway patrol outpost and request a correction. The officer in question will produce a supplemental report explaining the error.
Vital information omitted or transcribed incorrectly can also be resolved by politely contacting the officer in question via the police department and requesting a correction. The officer is not required to agree to your request.
Note that if you are dealing with disputed information, the only course of action is to engage an auto-injury attorney. Your Miami-Dade crash report is vital evidence, and disproving what an officer has seen and interpreted will require relevant evidence. Your attorney can guide you through the process of dealing with inaccuracies on your Miami-Dade police accident report.
What if the crash happened on private property?
Floridians are required to carry two types of auto insurance by law: Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL).
After an auto accident, you may make insurance claims through both policies. If an accident occurs on private property, you must still contact law enforcement to attend the scene and complete a report.
You should also contact the owner of the property, or their representatives, to make them aware that an incident has occurred on their property. Your legal obligations do not change simply because you experienced an accident away from the public highway.
Like auto accidents on public property, you can still buy a Florida crash report to support your insurance claim.
Need to search a different area? Visit our Florida Accident Reports page.
MyAccident.org has a 4.6 rating and a total of 401 reviews.