|The cost of a Police report in Florida typically ranges from $6 to $20, depending on the how you obtain it. You will likely need to provide information such as the report number, your name, drivers license number, vehicle plate number, the date/time of accident, location of accident, who was involved in the accident, your mailing address, phone number, and email.
|Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office offer's 2 ways to get a copy of your accident report:
|In Person: Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office, 2008 E. 8th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605
To request your Florida crash report online from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) Crash Portal, you will need to provide information about the accident and specific driver or vehicle involved in the crash. You will need to provide your driver's license number and may be asked for other identifying information, such as your report number, VIN number, or last name. In order to obtain a crash report, you must pay the statutorily required fee of $10.00 per report, plus an additional $2.00 convenience fee for each payment transaction. Customers are limited to a maximum of 10 reports per transaction. Please note that law enforcement agencies have 10 days to submit crash reports in Florida.
If requesting your crash report by mail or in person, you must complete a signed,
Sworn Statement for Crash Report form,
along with a $10 payment made out to “FLHSMV” for the report.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
These can be a good reliable source of data. However, the sites can be difficult to use and do not have all the Police Agencies in Florida. (sometimes less than 50%)
Within 60 days of the accident, Hillsborough County accident reports may be obtained through the Highway Patrol station closest to where the accident occurred. Obtain and fill out a Sworn Statement, which entitles you to obtain the relevant Florida accident report before the public exemption expires.
HCSO accident reports may also be obtained through the mail. The 60-day public exemption continues to apply to reports obtained through the mail. You must complete and submit a Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report and mail it to the following address:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Crash Records,
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28,
Expect mail requests for Hillsborough County accident reports to take four to six weeks to fulfill. Ensure you attach a check for payment.
The fastest way to obtain reports for traffic accidents in Hillsborough County is through the Florida Crash Portal. Submit your request, and if approved, you will receive a download link valid for 48 hours containing your report.
Note that the Florida Crash Portal regularly experiences technical issues. An additional $2 fee will be levied on top of the base $10 fee to obtain your crash report online.
What should I do if I’m involved in a car accident?
Under Florida law, you are required to remain at the scene of an accident and notify law enforcement through 911 in the following circumstances:
In practice, most accidents will fall into one of these three categories. If you can, take your own pictures of the accident, including signage, medical injuries, weather conditions, and skid marks. This evidence helps pursue your claim and aid the attending officer in all Florida traffic accidents.
You should also exchange information with the other driver(s) and any witnesses. Take the time to call your insurance company to report the accident.
It is a crime to leave the scene of the accident anywhere in the county, whether in Tampa Bay, Clearwater, or St. Petersburg.
What if the other driver denies liability for an auto accident?
The other driver may refuse to cooperate or deny liability for an accident. It is always best to avoid involving yourself in a conflict. Wait for the investigating officer to arrive and assist them in their investigation.
You will have the opportunity to put forth your side of the story, and the officer will record their interpretation.
A denial of liability can slow down the claims process, but it does not mean you cannot receive the justice you deserve. Allow your insurance company and auto accident attorney to guide you through the process of seeking compensation.
How long does it take for the report to be available?
According to the FL DMV, crash reports must be filed, if self-reporting, within ten days of an accident. If you are waiting for an official police report in Hillsborough County, FL, it can also take up to ten days to become available.
A 60-day exemption on public disclosure applies to all types of crash reports. Typical turnaround times depend on the availability of attending officers and how busy your local police department or highway patrol station is.
The fastest way to receive your report is either in person or online. Mail applications can take four to six weeks, meaning your report may already be in the public domain when you receive a response.
Can I contest the information in a crash report?
After completing a Hillsborough County police report lookup, you may find inconsistencies or inaccuracies within the report.
Your Hillsborough County crash report may contain errors and omissions. Police officers are human and are often under severe time pressures. It is your right to contest any information you flag within a Hillsborough County Sheriff's accident report.
The type of error will determine how you contest the information provided. For example, if the officer has made a factual error, such as an incorrect driving license number, attend your nearest station and request that the error be rectified. Your driving license is sufficient evidence to show that a mistake has been made.
Transcription errors and omissions are best corrected by contacting the investigating officer and politely speaking to them about the issue. Note that unless you have firm evidence, the officer is not required to alter the information they have recorded.
If you are disputing the information in your HCSO crash report, seeking professional legal help is the best course of action, as disputes could lead to a trial to determine liability.
Looking for a different office in the state? Visit our Florida Accident Reports page.
MyAccident.org has a 4.6 rating and a total of 401 reviews.