|The cost of a Police report in Florida typically ranges from $6 to $20, depending on the how you obtain it. You will likely need to provide information such as the report number, your name, drivers license number, vehicle plate number, the date/time of accident, location of accident, who was involved in the accident, your mailing address, phone number, and email.|
|Broward County Sheriff's Office offer's 4 ways to get a copy of your accident report:|
|In Person: Broward County Sheriff's Office, 2601 West Broward Boulevard Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312|
|By Email: [email protected]|
|Online: For more information, you can visit https://www.sheriff.org/LE/Pages/Request-a-Record.aspx|
Free Legal Consultation
You May Be Entitled To Compensation
Broward County accident reports may be obtained in person. All reports taken by Broward County Deputies from the scene of an accident take a number of days to be recorded and filed by the police department’s Records Division. According to the Broward County Sheriff’s Department, you should wait at least five business days before making an in-person request.
To obtain Broward County police reports in person, you should visit the public records window. If available, you should supply your case number, the name(s) of those involved, and the accident's date, time, and location.
If requesting Broward County traffic accident reports within the 60-day public exemption limit, you must also supply a completed Request for Traffic Crash Report Information Form. The signed and notarized form must be submitted to the same address as when making a mail request.
Should the 60-day limit expire, this form is not required.
You may also request a Broward County crash report by mail. You will also need your case number, the name of the person involved, and the date, time, and location of the auto accident.
If your request falls within the 60-day exemption limit, fill out and submit a notarized Request for Traffic Crash Report Information form.
All requests should be mailed to:
Broward Sheriff’s Office – Public Records Unit
PO Box 9507,
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33310
You may also obtain Fort Lauderdale accident reports online via the Florida Crash Portal. If your request is approved, you will receive a unique download link via email containing your crash report. All download links come with a 48-hour expiry limit. You must submit a new request if you fail to download your report on time.
BSO crash reports can also be obtained online through the Broward County Sheriff’s Department public records request portal.
Securing your Florida car crash report is designed to be fast, easy, and secure. Using our online platform, you can quickly obtain a copy of your report to continue pursuing your rightful claim for damages.
Your car crash report contains comprehensive information about the incident and serves as the launch pad for your claim.
Support your auto insurance claim with a Broward County report on your auto accident. Here is the information you can expect from your report.
The first page of your accident report contains a complete overview of the accident. It lists the total number of pages on the report. If your accident included an injury or fatality, you would always receive the long-form report, as Florida law requires.
The first page contains the crash's date, time, and location. It will also note the time the investigating officer arrived at the scene.
The crash information section lists any contributing factors to the accident, including poor lighting, challenging weather, and dangerous road conditions. Contact information for witnesses and non-vehicle damage will also be detailed and documented.
Each vehicle involved in the accident will receive its own page. Multi-car accidents will result in longer crash reports. Your car will also receive a unique number, which will be used to refer to it throughout the report.
The vehicle page details the make, model, year, and condition of the vehicle, as well as the contact information of the owner. Note that there will be a box in the top-left indicating what the vehicle in question was doing when the crash occurred, such as whether it was in motion or stationary.
Sections detailing “Vehicle Maneuver Action” and “Vehicle Defects” will detail what the driver did during the incident and any defects that could contribute to liability. If any citations were issued, the officer will document them on this page.
Each person involved will also receive a separate page. Every page will describe the person’s role, such as if they were a driver, passenger, or non-motorist. If they were occupying a vehicle at the time, this would also be detailed.
You will see the person’s name and contact details at the top of each person's page. The investigating officer will complete the sections on the page relevant to the person’s role.
Any on-scene alcohol or drug testing results will be outlined.
Pay special attention to the narrative page of your accident report in Florida. The narrative page is where the officer will write down the details of the accident in paragraph form, including their interpretation of what happened.
Your insurance company will pay special attention to the opinions of the investigating officer. Note that the narrative is just an interpretation. Subsequent evidence obtained in the aftermath of an auto accident may prove or disprove the officer’s interpretation of the event.
The narrative page may also include details not recorded on any other page of your crash report.
The investigating officer is required to complete a diagram of the crash. This pictorial representation of the incident will include the location, road names, and a north-directional arrow.
This page will also include information about any physical evidence, such as standing water and skid marks on the road. The officer’s diagram presents evidence that could be key in proving who was at fault.
The officer will document the position of each involved party/vehicle before, during, and after the impact. Inspect this page to ensure it matches your account of the accident.
At MyAccident.org, we understand that experiencing the trauma of an auto accident is stressful enough. Pursuing your insurance claim and getting the justice you deserve can require months of legal wrangling.
Concentrate on your recovery by providing your insurance company and auto accident attorney with the evidence they need to fight your corner.
Take advantage of our secure, easy-to-use platform to acquire a comprehensive accident report from your accident.
Does my insurance company need a police report?
Failure to obtain a police report does not automatically invalidate your claim for damages. You can file a claim for damages in the aftermath of an auto accident without a police report. In fact, many cases are relatively simple and are resolved without needing a trial or even a piece of official documentation from an investigating law enforcement agent.
On the other hand, obtaining a Broward accident report can significantly speed up your claim. Law enforcement agents are respected professionals, and their evidence is considered extremely valuable. Most insurance companies will not dispute a claim if an investigating officer has already assigned blame to a particular driver.
If you have not obtained a Broward County Sheriff's accident report, other forms of evidence can be taken into account. However, you must compile that evidence and supply it to your insurer.
Some examples of valid evidence you can gather without a police report include:
Employing an attorney can help your claim because they will have the resources to search for and gather evidence to prove that you are not at fault for the accident. Your attorney can also engage with your insurer so that you can concentrate on recovering from your accident.
Am I required to contact the police in case of an accident?
UnderFlorida law, the threshold for parties involved in an auto accident to contact law enforcement is far lower than in many other states. According to Section 316.065 of the Florida Statutes, drivers are required to contact law enforcement in the following circumstances:
In practice, this will require the most significant road traffic incidents to be reported to local law enforcement. Penalties for failing to contact law enforcement when required are severe, with punishments ranging from fines to jail time.
Note that in Florida, these requirements apply to auto accidents that take place on both public and private property.
If you are involved in an accident not requiring an officer to attend the scene, you can submit either a Driver Exchange of Information or a Driver Report of Traffic Crash (Self-Report) form. Even if you are not required to contact the police, self-reporting an incident can support your insurance claim if the other driver disputes your version of events.
Can I self-file a report in Florida?
Minor crashes may enable you to avoid calling law enforcement to investigate. You should still exchange driver and insurance information with the other party in these scenarios. It is also wise to take pictures and videos of the scene in case there is an insurance dispute. In the absence of an officer, the burden of proof falls on you.
You have several ways to self-report an accident in Florida.
The first option is to file your Florida car crash report online. Download theDriver Report of a Traffic Crash form from the FLHSMV portal.
Complete all appropriate fields within the form and apply a date and your digital signature. Page two of the form contains detailed instructions for completing each section.
Email the completed form to [email protected].
Self-Report By Mail
You should download the Driver Report of a Traffic Crash form to self-report by mail. You may complete it digitally or by hand.
Complete all applicable areas of the form and sign the report by hand. You should print out two copies and maintain one for your records. Your insurance company may also request a copy to support your claim.
Self-report forms should be submitted by mail to:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles,
Can anyone access these police reports?
No, Broward County accident reports always receive a 60-day window whereby the information remains confidential from the public. This requirement to prevent the public from accessing a Broward accident report is to protect victims and enable them to seek medical treatment and legal advice without harassment.
However, following the expiry of the 60-day window, anyone can obtain a copy of a BSO accident report, regardless of whether they were involved in the incident.
This requirement applies even if there was a fatality and the investigation remains ongoing.
So, who can obtain a copy of the report if an accident has occurred and the 60-day window remains valid? According to Florida law, the following parties have a right to request and receive a recent Florida accident police report:
Note that these requirements only apply to accidents involving motor vehicles. Separate requirements apply to motor vehicles being struck by trains or accidents involving electric scooters and swamp buggies.
Can I dispute Broward County accident reports?
Some accidents are contentious, meaning you may disagree with the attending officer’s findings and interpretations. Reading through your accident report is vital to ensure you can rectify any mistakes before your insurance company makes a final decision, particularly if you wish to pursue a separate lawsuit.
Although Florida’s no-fault laws mean both parties can pursue compensation, regardless of who was at fault, severe injuries can enable you to make separate claims via your insurance policy.
How you approach rectifying errors and omissions detailed in your crash report depends on the nature of the error. Factual errors may be resolved by contacting the Broward County Police Department and requesting a correction.
For example, if the attending officer listed your date of birth incorrectly, you can attend and present a copy of your driving license.
Other disputes may be resolved by contacting the investigating officer and politely raising your objections. The officer is not required to make an amendment in these scenarios but remember that officers are human and make mistakes.
Is Florida a no-fault state?
Florida operates under no-fault laws. It means that in the event of an accident involving a motor vehicle, both drivers are entitled to request compensation via their insurers. It does not matter who was at fault.
No-fault laws are funded by requiring all drivers to hold Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. No-fault laws aim to make it simpler for injured parties to seek damages and cover their medical treatment.
However, there are limits on how much your PIP will cover concerning medical expenses. Florida drivers typically file lawsuits when their medical expenses exceed the limits outlined in their PIP coverage.
Due to these restrictions, it is strongly recommended that you take down evidence from the scene of an accident in case you decide to file a separate lawsuit against the driver or their insurance company later.
Why does it help to obtain Broward County accident reports?
Even though you are not required to present a police report to file your claim in the Sunshine State, there are reasons why you should go out of your way to obtain a police report or self-report an accident.
Two of the most common issues that can arise include:
Self-reported accident reports may not have the same clout as a report provided by an investigating law enforcement agent. However, they can still mean the difference between getting a claim approved or denied.
Taking down as much evidence as possible and filing an official report is good practice, regardless of how minor a motor vehicle accident was.
Looking for a different office in the state? Visit our Florida Accident Reports page.